Auction closed with me winning then it carried on and someone else won it.
I was bidding on an auction and someone had an auto-bid on. I managed to bid a little higher, luckily as the clock kept ticking down, not doing the usual after every bid 2mins gets added. I got my bid in and the auction said 'Closing...' and I saw that and checked it was me who had won by the bids history. I won. So, I went straight to the Items I won so I could pay immediately. Only it never turned up and I finally looked back to see the auction had continued and someone else won! I'm really bummed. Has anyone else had this happen. It just seems really glitchy.
-
Wow! Still happening? Oh well, at least the gaslighting response seems to have ceased...
0 -
oh_hunnihunni Indeed it still is happening.
Gaslighting response has not ceased also. Just received a response from the support team, completely ignoring my input and suggesting that I did not refresh the page and that someone else won the auction because they bid in auto-extended time after my bid.
Trademe, you really really could have done better. I have reported the issue not to vent my frustration, but for you to tackle the issue which is obviously still present.
0 -
This still happens now. The auction ended with the timer reaching zero seconds with me leading the bidding and the timer changed to say "Closing". I had refreshed the page constantly to ensure I led the auction and wasn't outbid. When I went to pay, I found it showing up in the Lost folder instead of the Won folder, where it showed another bid of $5 had been placed. I have a screenshot of the finished auction with my leading bid. Trademe support are blaming me for not refreshing the page and have told me many times that I should frequently refresh the page in the final moments of an auction. I did tell them I was constantly refreshing the page, but they either don't believe it or have no other answer so I am expecting this error to continue.
0 -
AJ Community Superuser
If you have a photo showing you are leading the bid and its "closing", i would've thought that would be good enough evidence for trademe to see the problem. I mean there's no longer any point refreshing as once an auction is closing, noone else can bid on it
0 -
Left side shows all I saw after many refreshes during and after the auction ended. Right side is what showed an hour or so later on.
0 -
This infuriates me. We had a bid, it said closing then next minute someone else had won it. How does that happen? and really should that be allowed. Needs some investigation I reckon.
0 -
And, not only that, usually the timer reverts back to two minutes again with a late bid (especially those who bid with 1 sec left) but when this "closing" and then losing to a higher bid, doesn't happen.
Must be some strange loophole.
TRADE ME - investigate, fix it and advise the community.
0 -
There is a "Lost" folder?
0 -
They have said that they are looking into it. But from what they said to me, they are looking at something else which is not the actual problem. When I try to give more details to clarify the problem they try to end the discussion and inform me I simply need to refresh the page more.
0 -
How best to contact them? I'll try too.
0
40 comments
Date
Votes