Listings disappearing from MyProducts
AnsweredI have my listings both in my Notepad app on my Mac and in MyProducts.
I wanted to relist some unsold items I had previously listed via MyProducts quite some time ago - but couldn't find them in MyProducts. They were in my Notepad app, and it turns out the pictures ARE in MyProducts - which means the listing was in MyProducts as well.
I found quite a few of my listings have disappeared - so how long does MyProducts keep the listings before deleting them?
I find it quite unacceptable if listings are simply removed - makes MyProducts an unsafe app to use.
-
Callum Community Superuser
Hello markuswinter
Items in My Products never expire. The only way they should be able to be removed is if you have deleted them. So I would suggest you have done that inadvertently. Or perhaps you just aren't using the correct search term to find them if you have thousands to look through?
I'm not sure what details are on your notepad. But it shouldn't be too disastrous to fix. Can you just copy that info across to MP? If your notepad also captured a listing number then you will be able to find the text description on Trade Me as well via a search.
Photos do eventually disappear if they are untethered to a current listing, but that can apparently take a year or more to happen.
I sometimes delete my very old individual items that I likely will never have again in an effort to speed up searches within My Products, but I have had items on there continuously for over 10 years without any issues.
0 -
I write my listing in Apple's notes app (which is quite brilliant) including reference number, an image for quick identification, title, listing description, additional notes.
Listing number is pointless as it changes with every relist.
I then copy it across.
If I don't find something that must be there then checking what I typed is the first thing I do.
Next thing is to use different search terms (eg copy the reference from Notes into the search field, or use another term from the title).
I don't delete anything - sold listings go into a SOLD folder. Listings that need more editing go into INCOMPLETE, etc
I think it is time I write my own MyProducts app (and that should tell you that I'm NOT a newbie on the computer or computer-illiterate, on the contrary).
And I just checked: deleting a folder does not delete the listings contained in it (as it should be).
0
2 comments
Date
Votes