Authenticating your account

Authenticating your membership opens up a bunch of great features, including being able to list items for sale.

There are two quick and easy ways to get authenticated:

  • Top-up your Trade Me account with $10.
  • Purchase something on Trade Me using the Buy Now option and pay via Ping.

 

Even if you’re not intending to sell on Trade Me, we recommend you become authenticated to show other members you are serious about trading. Once authenticated, your username will have a red star beside it throughout Trade Me.

Why become authenticated?

As an authenticated trader you are more trusted than non-authenticated members. Your feedback rating is also reflected in your authentication – the more feedback, the more stars appear next to your name.

What are the benefits of being authenticated?

Along with being able to sell and being more trusted, authenticated members have additional features available to them, including being able to:

  • place bids over $5,000
  • place bids on more than five separate auctions at once.

 

What happens to credit on your account?

The money credited to your Trade Me account is used to pay success fees when you sell an item, or promotional fees when you place a listing. If you don't sell anything this money remains on your account until you use it or decide to close your account.

Accounts left inactive for 18 months are closed automatically and any remaining credit may be forfeited. We'll send an email prior to this, giving you the opportunity to keep your account open.


Thank you for your feedback!
How can we make this article better? This form is for anonymous article feedback and we aren't able to reply.
If you need help, please contact us.